Negitoro Ikura Don.

This is a very simple and quick one dish meal to prepare provided you stock up the ingredients in your fridge like I do. I almost always have ikura in the fridge, and I recently ordered 2 packets of Negitoro from Zairyo.sg, so when I was lazy to cook I have something to make for a quick meal.

Negitoro is essentially sashimi grade tuna made from the scrapings and odds and ends around the bones, usually around the belly area, with added spring onions. It is very affordable and it tastes really good. I really love it. One time I went to a restaurant and ate a negitoro gunkan, and found that there was something special about the taste, it was extra creamy. It was then that I realised they had added in mayonaise. So that is how I make mine, with added mayo. I am not sure if this makes it ‘less authentic’ but I love it so that’s how I eat it. Recipe here is for just 1 person with a big appetite. Continue reading “Negitoro Ikura Don.”